Drat the Bratz

Ok, apparently they’ve been around for a while (DVD launch in Sep 05) but I just discovered that the Bratz have been put to music. I suppose you could argue that Bratz Rock Angelz is like a corporate version of the Gorillaz. But leaving the way too easy target of musical integrity aside for a moment, my main concern comes from the fact that my daughter’s going to be old enough to be in their core customer base before long. I was never much of a fan of Barbie (she seems to suffer from the same eating disorder as the Bratz) but the street wise Bratz make Barbie look like a nun. So you can imagine my horror when I saw my daughter dancing roud the living room to the Bratz.

I fear the battle is lost before it began….

The moral of the story? Never underestimate the power of music in marketing.