Mutter, grumble, grumble…

Pro-Tools makes it all too easy?! Grrr

There is no added artistic or creative value in fiddling around with endless extra processors, outboard and manual EQs. Digital recording technology actually encourages creativity because it takes a lot of the hassle, guess work and luck out of pure analogue recording. Leaving the engineer / producer more time to focus on other aspects of the creative and recording process. Digital recording has also made it possible for more and more artists to actually learn not just how to record their own music, but how to create and how to make intricate soundscapes around their compositions, in turn often completely evolving the original composition. Digital recording also enables you to come back to a track at a future date and pick it up exactly where it was, with exactly the same mix, levels, FX, EQ etc. I used to have a full analogue set-up in my studio and it used to be an absolute pain writing down pages of EQ, compression and FX settings if I wanted to move onto something else. (Also, FWIW by the time I first started dabbling with midi – i.e. before sophisticated PC based software packages- the signal synch issues were appalling.) Now with my fully digital set-up (that, for the record actually runs off Logic rather than Pro-Tools) I can save all my EQ with a press of one button on my digital desk, my outboard settings each with one button per unit and all my arrangement, VST and internal processor settings with one save in Logic.

In the old world I’d have been limited to a Tascam Portastudio 4 track (I had one of those too actually) which it took a genius to create true release-quality product with. In the new world there are endless bedroom wanabee musos playing around with Fruity Loops, E-Jay, Qbass, Logic etc and in my books that’s great news. IF being a ‘true’ muso means working with overheating value’s and spring reverbs, then I’ll stick with the wanabees thank you very much.