How to do Multiplatform Music Programming

The curtains have come down on another muddy but highly successful Glastonbury festival. I’d blame having children for me not being there but apparently that’s not excuse.

I did however spend much of the weekend immersing myself in Glastonbury from the mud-free comfort of my home. The BBC did a fantastic job of cross-channel coverage of the event. They leveraged both standard terrestrial and digital terrestrial channels to broadcast a huge amount of performances and segmented much of the programming around the respective audience characteristics of each channel e.g. more of the Jazz World stage on BBC4. There was also extensive DTT interactive content with the ability to chose between acts etc. This was all integrated with analogue and digital radio programming and extensive online programming. The online content include information on acts, photos of performances etc. All of which were great discovery tools. I personally ended up buying a dozen or so tracks from acts I’d seen for the first time. And now the BBC has updated the site to provide video and audio highlights.

This is a really good example of how to programme an event across multiple channels. And crucially how to leverage live music online. This is something we’ll be writing about later in the year at Jupiter, so watch this space.

For the record here are some of my personal highlights:

Rodrigo y Gabriella

Kasabian

<a href=”http://www.bbc.co.uk/glastonbury/2007/player/chemicalbrothers.shtml“>Chemical Brothers

I was hoping to be impressed by Bat for Lashes and CSS but I was disappointed by both despite their fantastic wierdness…though CSS are begining to grow on me at second listening / watching.

Though the ones which I’m really disappointed to see are missing are from the site: Arcade Fire, Kaiser Chiefs and Just Jacks’ absolutely electric performance of ‘Starz in their Eyes’….which is kind of ironic considering they use it as the link music for all streams.

Oh and one final thing….if you’re going to watch do yourself a favour and select Windows Media Player…the Real streams constantly rebuffer.